Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Canary Islands, Spain

The Canary Islands (Islas Canarias) are a Spanish archipelago located 100 km off the southern coast of Morocco. The main islands are (from largest to smallest) Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro.

The archipelago’s beaches, climate and important natural attractions, make it a major tourist destination with over 12 million visitors per year, especially Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria and Lanzarote. The islands have a subtropical climate, with long warm summers and moderately warm winters. Tourism is most important of the Islands economy.

Lanzarote is the easternmost island of the Canary Islands and has a volcanic origin. Costa Teguise is a coastal town in the Municipality of Teguise. It was built intentionally to accommodate tourism, and prior to building commencing the streets were planned, constructed, and serviced in advance. The town has four main beaches, all of which are natural: Playa de los Charcos, Playa de las Cucharas, Playa del Jablillo and Playa Bastián.