Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Canary Islands, Spain

The Canary Islands (Islas Canarias) are a Spanish archipelago located 100 km off the southern coast of Morocco. The main islands are (from largest to smallest) Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro.

The archipelago’s beaches, climate and important natural attractions, make it a major tourist destination with over 12 million visitors per year, especially Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria and Lanzarote. The islands have a subtropical climate, with long warm summers and moderately warm winters. Tourism is most important of the Islands economy.

Lanzarote is the easternmost island of the Canary Islands and has a volcanic origin. Playa Blanca, (White Beach) is the southernmost town of the Spanish island of Lanzarote. It is part of the municipality of Yaiza.

The coastline around Playa Blanca is essentially one large 9 kilometre wide bay which is then broken up into three smaller, but still large, bays. From East to west these are Playa Dorada, Playa Blanca and Playa Flamingo. This basic geography means that the beaches in and around Playa Blanca are sheltered and ideal for swimming and sunbathing.

From the harbor Marina Rubicon there are 3 ferry lines which go to Fuerteventura. Playa Blanca is overlooked by the dormant volcano, Montana Roja.