The Rock of Cashel, also known as Cashel of the Kings and St. Patrick’s Rock, is a historic site located at Cashel, County Tipperary, Ireland.
According to local mythology, the Rock of Cashel originated in the Devil’s Bit, a mountain 30 km north of Cashel when St. Patrick banished Satan from a cave, resulting in the Rock’s landing in Cashel. Cashel is reputed to be the site of the conversion of the King of Munster by St. Patrick in the 5th century.
The Rock of Cashel was the traditional seat of the kings of Munster for several hundred years prior to the Norman invasion. In 1101, the King of Munster, Muirchertach Ua Briain, donated his fortress on the Rock to the Church. The picturesque complex is one of the most remarkable collections of Celtic art and medieval architecture to be found anywhere in Europe.
The Rock of Cashel is managed by Heritage Ireland. The Hall of the Vicars Choral serves as entrance to the Rock of Cashel and as a museum where, among other things, the original Saint Patrick’s Cross can be visited. A replica is located outside the cathedral.
Below are some photos made during a visit to this historic place in may 2018. Click on a miniature-photo to enlarge it, then navigate using the arrows left/right of the photo or use the cursor keys on your keyboard.