Derry, Ireland

Derry (officially Londonderry) is the second-largest city in Northern Ireland and the fourth-largest city of Ireland. The name Derry is an anglicisation of the Old Irish name Daire meaning ‘oak grove’. In 1613 the city was granted a Royal Charter by King James I and gained the ‘London’ prefix to reflect the funding of its construction by the London guilds.

The old walled city lies on the west bank of the River Foyle, which is spanned by two road bridges and one footbridge. Derry is the only remaining completely intact walled city in Ireland.

Derry is close to the border with County Donegal, with which it has had a close link for many centuries.

Below are some photos made during a visit to this city in may 2018. The city walls, St. Eugene’s Cathedral, The War Memorial, wall paintings and more. Click on a miniature-photo to enlarge it, then navigate using the arrows left/right of the photo or use the cursor keys on your keyboard.