Cinque Terre, Italy

Cinque Terre is a coastal region within Liguria, in the northwest of Italy. It lies west of La Spezia and comprises of five villages; Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore. The coastline, the five villages, and the surrounding hills are all part of the Cinque Terre National Park.

Over the centuries people have built terraces and houses on the rugged, steep landscape and the cliffs overlooking the sea. Hiking trails, a train connection and boats connect the villages. They are very difficult to reach with cars. The Cinque Terre area is a popular tourist destination. From the hiking trails that connect the villages with each other you have a view of the sea, hills, orchards and the villages.

Below are some photos made during a visit to villages in Cinque Terre and a walk between Monterosso al Mare and Vernazza. Click on a miniature-photo to enlarge it, then navigate using the arrows left/right of the photo or use the cursor keys on your keyboard.

Camera: Nikon D850
Lens: Sigma 24-105mm f4 DG OS HSM | Art